All posts by René Martin

Event for Patients at the Universitätsklinikum Leipzig

October 29 is the world stroke day. Therefore the Universitätsklinikum Leipzig invites everyone to an informational presentation about the prevention and aftercare of the disease. Additionally afterwards experts provide answers to any arising questions.

Further information about the event can be found in German at the website of the Universiätsklinikum Leipzig (https://www.uniklinikum-leipzig.de/presse/Seiten/Pressemitteilung_6862.aspx).

Start of the stroke-pilot program

In order to get to know the work as a stroke-pilot better and to be able to better assess the needs of patients who have had a stroke, the two pilot nurses of the Clinic and Polyclinic for Neurology have taken up their work. To this end, select patients of the stroke unit at the University Hospital Leipzig were included in the preliminary test program. The goal of the stroke-pilots is to offer advice and assistance to stroke patients in the first year after an acute incident and to facilitate the co-ordination of the post-stationary treatment.

In addition, the experience gained during the preliminary phase, which has now started, should serve as a further basis for the conceptual orientation of the patient app which is currently under development. „The requirements that emerge from the current co-supervision provide us with a realistic close-to-patient view of the necessities of support after a stroke. This information helps us to design the PostStroke Manager in a way that it can best meet the needs of our patients“, says project coordinator and senior physician Professor Dr. med. Dominik Michalski.

Visit to the Stiftung Deutsche Schlaganfall-Hilfe (German Stroke Foundation)

The German Stroke Foundation has been supporting our project from the start as associated partner. Thus we were very excited to meet and exchange ideas with our colleagues from the „StrokeOWL“ project – which is pioneering in the use of stroke-pilots.

Important points in this intellectual exchange were the experiences gained from already active stroke-pilots as well as an examination of difficulties and opportunities concerning the technical support of stroke-pilots. Furthermore scientific aspects regarding the study-evaluation and training of stroke-pilots could be discussed.

We want to thank the German Stroke Foundation and hope to meet them again soon in Leipzig!

Guest appearance at the info session „Kopfsache“

On May 22nd, 2019 we gladly followed an invitation to the info session „Kopfsache“, which is held three times a year at the FAW (Fortbildungsakademie der Wirtschaft) in Leipzig. Declared aim of this networking event is the intellectual exchange amongst patients, medical care professionals and interested individuals involved in the care of people with acquired brain damage.

In the course of a short presentation we were given the opportunity to present the PostStroke-Manager project and to discuss some aspects with the audience. Furthermore we were able to connect with therapists and other care workers and to discuss a whole range of questions with affected patients, which in turn will help to make the PostStroke-Manager patient-oriented from the start.

We want to thank everyone who took part in the event. We learned a great deal from those questions, which will be directly integrated back into the conceptualisation of our system.

Ceremonial endorsement of the PostStroke-Manager project

© University of Leipzig, photographer Christian Hüller

On Wednesday funding for the PostStroke-Manager project was officially granted by the regional government of Saxony. Barbara Kleptsch, the saxonian Minister of social affairs and consumer protection, personally handed over the funding certificate to Prof. Dr.-Ing. Galina Ivanova, project coordinator at the Interdisciplinary Competence Center Biomedical Data Science, and Prof. Dr. med. Dominik Michalski, coordinator at the Clinic and Polyclinic for Neurology at the University Hospital Leipzig. The approximately two million Euro of public funding will be invested in a long-term preventive care system for stroke patients. Further support for the PostStroke-Manager project came not only from the minister, but also from Prof. Dr. med. Joseph Claßen, director of the Clinic and Polyclinic for Neurology, and Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Wolf Nürnberg, representative of the German Statutory Pension Insurance Scheme of middle Germany.

Alle Beiträge von René Martin

Patienteninformationsveranstaltung am Universitätsklinikum Leipzig

Anlässlich des Weltschlaganfall-Tages am 29. Oktober läd das Universitätsklinikum Leipzig zu einer Informationsveranstaltung für Patienten ein. Zusätzlich zu einem Vortrag zum Thema Vor- und Nachsorge der Erkrankung besteht die Möglichkeit direkt mit mit den Experten ins Gespräch zu kommen.

Nähere Informationen zu der Veranstaltung finden sie auf der Webseite des Universitätsklinikums Leipzig (https://www.uniklinikum-leipzig.de/presse/Seiten/Pressemitteilung_6862.aspx).

Start der Lotsenbetreuung

Um die Arbeit als Schlaganfall-Lotsin besser kennen zu lernen und um die Bedürfnisse von Patientinnen und Patienten, die einen Schlaganfall erlitten haben, besser einschätzen zu können, haben die beiden Lotsinnen der Klinik und Poliklinik für Neurologie ihre Arbeit aufgenommen. Dafür werden aktuell ausgewählte Patientinnen und Patienten der Stroke Unit am Universitätsklinikum Leipzig in die Betreuung aufgenommen. Ziel der Lotsinnen ist es dabei, Schlaganfall-Betroffenen im ersten Jahr nach akuter Erkrankung bei Fragen zur Seite zu stehen und die Koordination der post-stationären Behandlung dadurch zu erleichtern.

Außerdem sollen die im Rahmen der nun angelaufenen Pilotphase gesammelten Erfahrungen als weitere Grundlage für die konzeptionelle Ausrichtung der PatientInnen-App dienen. „Der Bedarf, der sich in der aktuellen Mitbetreuung zeigt, bietet uns ein patientennahes und realistisches Abbild der notwendigen Unterstützung nach einem Schlaganfall. Diese Informationen helfen uns, den PostStroke-Manager so zu gestalten, dass er den Bedürfnissen unserer Patientinnen und Patienten bestmöglich gerecht werden kann“, berichtet Projektleiter und Oberarzt Professor Dr. Dominik Michalski dazu.

Besuch bei der Stiftung Deutsche Schlaganfall-Hilfe

Als assoziierter Projektpartner unterstützt die Stiftung Deutsche Schlaganfall-Hilfe unser Projektvorhaben von Beginn an. Umso mehr freuten wir uns, am 27.05.2019 Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus dem Projekt „StrokeOWL“ – dem Vorreiterprojekt in Sachen Schlaganfall-Lotsen – in Gütersloh zum fachlichen Austausch kennen zu lernen.

Wichtige Punkte waren dabei vor allem die Erfahrungen von aktuell schon tätigen Schlaganfall-Lotsen sowie die nähere Betrachtung von Möglichkeiten und Schwierigkeiten bei der technischen Unterstützung des Lotsenkonzeptes. Außerdem konnten wissenschaftliche Aspekte in Hinblick auf Studienevaluation sowie die Organisation der Lotsenausbildung diskutiert werden.

Wir bedanken uns für die freundliche Einladung nach Gütersloh und freuen uns auf den weiteren Austausch mit der Stiftung Deutsche Schlaganfall-Hilfe und ein baldiges Wiedersehen in Leipzig!

Besuch beim Stammtisch „Kopfsache“

Der Einladung zur Teilnahme am Stammtisch „Kopfsache“, der dreimal jährlich in den Räumen der Fortbildungsakademie der Wirtschaft in Leipzig stattfindet, sind wir am 22.05.2019 gerne gefolgt. Ziel der Netzwerktreffen ist die Möglichkeit des gedanklichen Austausches zwischen Patientinnen und Patienten sowie Akteuren der professionellen Versorgung von Menschen mit erworbener Hirnschädigung.

Im Rahmen eines kurzen Vortrags konnten wir das Projekt PostStroke-Manager vorstellen und im Anschluss über einzelne Aspekte mit den Anwesenden diskutieren. Außerdem war es möglich in diesem Rahmen neue Kontakte mit Therapeuten und anderen Helfern zu knüpfen und wichtige Fragen mit Betroffenen direkt zu erörtern, um das System von Beginn an patientenorientiert auszurichten.

Wir möchten uns für den spannenden und anregenden Austausch mit allen Beteiligten bedanken. Hierbei wurden uns viele relevante Aspekte aufgezeigt, die wir bei der Konzeption unseres Projektes berücksichtigen werden.

Feierliche Übergabe des Fördermittelbescheides

© Universität Leipzig, Fotograf Christian Hüller

Am Mittwoch fand die feierliche Übergabe des Fördermittelbescheids für das Projekt PostStroke-Manager statt. Barbara Kleptsch, die sächsische Staatministerin für Soziales und Verbraucherschutz, überreichte den Bescheid persönlich an Prof. Dr.-Ing. Galina Ivanova, Leiterin des Projekts am interdisziplinären Kompetenzzentrum Biomedical Data Science und Prof. Dr. med. Dominik Michalski, Leiter des Projektes an der Klinik und Poliklinik für Neurologie der Universitätsklinik Leipzig. Die rund zwei Millionen Euro staatliche Fördermittel werden in eine nachhaltige, präventive Langzeitbetreuung von Schlaganfallpatienten investiert. Rückenwind bekam das Projekt PostStroke-Manager an diesem Tag nicht nur von der Gesundheitsministerin, sondern auch von Prof. Dr. med. Joseph Claßen, Direktor der Klinik und Poliklinik für Neurologie und Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Wolf Nürnberg von der Deutschen Rentenversicherung Mitteldeutschland.